Roger Grace receives UMRA Lifetime Achievement Award

The UMRA Honorary Lifetime Membership award was given to Rev. Roger Grace, outgoing UMRA President, this week.  The Honorary Lifetime Membership is reserved for carefully selected lay and clergy persons who, over an extended period of time, have invested themselves nationally or regionally in contributing to the life of the Church’s concern for mission and ministry in town and rural places. The purpose of the award is to recognize such persons in a dignified and significant setting.  Roger has served the UMC in the following areas:  1983 Deacon, WOC; 1986 Elder, WOC.  Appointments: Moline (T) 1981; Southern Cluster (A), 1984; Director Meigs Cooperative Parish (A) 1988; New Lexington First UMC (A) 1993; DS Athens District, 1999; Assistant to the DS (CAN) 2006; Roger received his undergraduate degree from Moorehead State University and his M. Div. from MTSO.  He has served as UMRA President, 2009- 2016; in the Rural Chaplain Appalachian Network 1991; in the Town and Rural Resources Program (TAARP) and as a Jurisdictional and General Conference Delegate.